Do you get gas with a big cut? | Preparing for Hysterectomy (pre hysterectomy) | HysterSisters
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support and Information
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support Tutorial

Go Back   Hysterectomy HysterSisters > Hysterectomy Support Posts > Preparing for Hysterectomy (pre hysterectomy)

With free registration, you can ask and answer questions in our HYSTERECTOMY forum community, get our FREE BOOKLET, access Hysterectomy Checkpoints and more.

You are not alone. The HysterSisters are here for you. Join us today!
join HysterSisters for hysterectomy resources and support

Do you get gas with a big cut? Do you get gas with a big cut?

Unread 08-11-2005, 09:41 AM
Do you get gas with a big cut?

I was wondering if you are cut from the belly-button to the pubic bone for your op - would you still suffer from gas afterwards? Do they even inflate you with gas when the cut is so big? How could they keep it in there?

Sorry if that is a silly question .... but I am still learning so much from this site - thanks everyone
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Unread 08-11-2005, 09:47 AM

The gas you experience is due to the bowels starting to work again, when they put you out for the surgery, you bowels go to sleep too. I think the ladies who have the surgery lapriscopically have more gas, because they do fill the abdomen with air, to get a better view, but the ladies (including myself) who have had their surgery abdominally, still have a fair amount of gas from everything *wakingup* and getting back to normal...
There are no silly questions here, dont be afraid to ask, there is so much to learn, and so many questions to be asked, and none of them are silly......
snickers
Unread 08-11-2005, 07:07 PM