filled with fibroids and questions | Hysterectomy Options and Alternatives | HysterSisters
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support and Information
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support Tutorial

Go Back   Hysterectomy HysterSisters > Hysterectomy Support Posts > Hysterectomy Options and Alternatives

With free registration, you can ask and answer questions in our HYSTERECTOMY forum community, get our FREE BOOKLET, access Hysterectomy Checkpoints and more.

You are not alone. The HysterSisters are here for you. Join us today!
join HysterSisters for hysterectomy resources and support

filled with fibroids and questions filled with fibroids and questions

Unread 10-27-2009, 03:26 PM
filled with fibroids and questions

Hi everyone...I'm brand new to the Hyster Sisters and learned I had fibroids about 6 or 7 years ago when I miscarried. I've had them watched every 6 months or so to see if they were growing and within the past year, one in particular has grown to the size of a 5 month old fetus.

What brought me to my gyno this year, was because i had two episodes of intense abdominal pain - one lasting about 5 hours and the second time lasting 10 hours. It was excruciating. I went to my internist and he originally ruled out anything to do with my abdomen area (after having a colonoscopy and endoscopy) and thought it was perhaps my fibroid(s) which he was alarmed to feel how large it was upon examination.

I went to my gyno and she was unsure about the fibroid causing the pain but thought I should have it out. I went for a second opinion - a doctor with 35 years experience, affiliated with a good hospital and highly recommended from a friend - and he was confident that the abdomen pain had nothing to do with the fibroid. He also said I should have it removed.