HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support and Information
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support Tutorial

Go Back   Hysterectomy HysterSisters > Hysterectomy Special Needs > Cancer Concerns - GYN

HysterSisters answers for your Hysterectomy Questions With free registration, you can ask and answer questions in our forum community, get free booklets, access Hysterectomy Checkpoints and more. Join us today!

CT scan for ovarian mass CT scan for ovarian mass

Unread 07-22-2004, 06:28 AM
CT scan for ovarian mass

Hi Everyone,
I'm a newbie in this forum, but a returning "princess" (having received lots of wonderful information and support from Hystersisters in 2001 when I had a SAH for multiple large fibroids and anemia). Two weeks ago, I developed sudden abdominal discomfort that didn't go away. Some of the pain radiated to my cervical area and felt like menstrual cramps. I followed up with my gynecologist three days later when things still felt uncomfortable. The pelvic exam was painful -- a first, for me -- and she suggested an ultrasound. I had abdominal and transvaginal ultrasounds done, which showed a "complex mass" measuring 4.8 cm x 3.2 cm x 3.0 cm on the left ovary. (Right ovary appeared normal and was about half that size) I am scheduled to have a pelvic and abdominal CT scan tomorrow and already have the name of a gynecological oncologist for a consultation. My CA125 and CEA19-9 levels are in the normal range, however I know that this in itself is not a guarantee that the mass isn't malignant. Has anyone with ovarian cancer or a complex ovarian cyst had an MRI as an initial diagnostic scan rather than CT? I do have some concerns about the radiation used with CT, plus the barium and IV contrast (neither of which I've had before). I have had multiple MRIs with gadolinium contrast for another medical problem (brain tumor), so perhaps that's why I feel more comfortable thinking in those terms. Any suggestions about diagnostic testing, consultations, reading list, or other co