HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support and Information
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support Tutorial

Go Back   Hysterectomy HysterSisters > Hysterectomy Support Posts > Hysterectomy Recovery (post hysterectomy)

HysterSisters answers for your Hysterectomy Questions With free registration, you can ask and answer questions in our HYSTERECTOMY forum community, get free booklets, access Hysterectomy Checkpoints and more. You are not alone. The HysterSisters are here for you. Join us today!

Abscess problems; anyone else? Abscess problems; anyone else?

Unread 08-22-2004, 09:23 AM
Abscess problems; anyone else?

I'm about nine weeks post-op and have been ill the entire time. I had to switch doctors to find out that I have an abdominal abscess, and I have a ultra sound scheduled on Thursday to find out how many organs besides the vaginal cuff and my left ovarie it's affecting. It looks like at the very least I have to have the abscess drained but may lose the left ovarie and the remainder of the tube on that side. I have never heard of anything like this before, and from what I understand this abscess formed shortly after my surgery, which was a mess in itself. I was in the hospital for eight days. Anyone that has experienced this, can you tell me about all that you went through and how you discovered the problem, treatment etc. Physically this has been hard but has been harder emotionally. Just wanted to get a better idea of what to expect from this. Thank you in advance to anyone that offers an answer!

Jackie
Unread 08-22-2004, 02:21 PM

Hi ,

I have not had this happen, but I am sorry you are going through this .

I hope everything gets better soon so you can get on with your life. Let us know how you do.

s
Unread 08-22-2004, 03:01 PM

I too, had an abdominal abscess. I had to have surgery to get rid of all the infection ! It was a bad time, but it does get better !
Unread 08-22-2004, 03:59 PM

Jackie