HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support and Information
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support Tutorial

Go Back   Hysterectomy HysterSisters > Hysterectomy Support Posts > Preparing for Hysterectomy (pre hysterectomy)

HysterSisters answers for your Hysterectomy Questions With free registration, you can ask and answer questions in our forum community, get free booklets, access Hysterectomy Checkpoints and more. Join us today!

Fibroids, Heavy Bleeding, and Hysterectomy Fibroids, Heavy Bleeding, and Hysterectomy

Unread 04-23-2005, 11:08 PM
Fibroids, Heavy Bleeding, and Hysterectomy

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to Hyster Sisters. I've had a 5 year history of heavy periods, which in the past, Ibuprofin seemed to help. (with cramping and the amount of flow). About 8 months or so, I started noticing that my periods were getting even heavier, and in all likelihood, they were probably getting even heavier prior to 8 months ago, just not consistently every month. My last GYN in Germany (Military) said to come back if the periods became so heavy that I was changing pads every hour to hour and a half.

We moved to the States, and during the past 8 months, I tried using both super tampons and an overnight pad. Everytime I urinate, the water is bright red, and I increased to 2 pads. Sometimes it feels like the blood is gushing out. About 2 months ago, I called my Primary doc and decided it was time to go back in. He switched the motrin to something else which helped out with the cramping, but not for the amount of flow.

I also started noticing that I was craving ice all the time? Has anyone else experiencing heavy bleeding while also craving ice?