HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support and Information
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support Tutorial

Go Back   HysterSisters Hysterectomy > Hysterectomy Support Posts > Hysterectomy Recovery (post hysterectomy)

HysterSisters answers for your Hysterectomy Questions With free registration, you can ask and answer questions in our forum community, get free booklets, access Hysterectomy Checkpoints and more. Join us today!

Cervix removal Cervix removal

Unread 04-10-2006, 04:22 PM
Cervix removal

Hi, I've never used this site before so I'm not sure who will acknowledge. I'm wondering why do doctors remove the cervix even though there is not a situation involving cancer. Will this cause problems down the line? I've only found an area that speaks of weakening the pelvic floor. Any thoughts? Thanks
Unread 04-10-2006, 05:14 PM
Cervix removal

I had problems with mine,so mine is out. I think maybe it may have something to do with the uterus? Welcome,you will love this site,all kinds of and support!!
Unread 04-10-2006, 05:24 PM
Cervix removal

You have brought up a very controversial issue. The cervix and uterus are actually one organ, therefore some drs remove the entire organ as there is not a "perfect" way to know where to cut the uterus that would allow leaving the portion called the cervix, with no uterus attached, to prevent future cramps, or uterine issues.

Also, there are other issues for which you might wish to have your cervix removed. Mine was removed due to endo. Some have to have it removed because of prolapse issues. And depending on which surgery type is best for you, your cervix may have to be removed for that hyst type.

Additionally, some women keep their ovaries, so if they keep their cervix, there is potential for having a mini period and some women would rather not deal with this possiblity.