HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support and Information
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support Tutorial

Go Back   Hysterectomy HysterSisters > Hysterectomy Support Posts > Preparing for Hysterectomy (pre hysterectomy)

HysterSisters answers for your Hysterectomy Questions With free registration, you can ask and answer questions in our forum community, get free booklets, access Hysterectomy Checkpoints and more. Join us today!

douche before surgery? douche before surgery?

Unread 07-22-2006, 06:53 PM
douche before surgery?

Ok, I'm not sure if I misread the instructions from my doctor, but it says to do a douche and a fleet enema, has anyone had to douche? I've never done that before, and I'm assuming because I'm not only having a TAH but also a hammock for the euretha, he said he would have to go through the vagina for that, so is that why the douche? Also I have ready many people say they were given something to drink for bowel prep, has anyone had to do the fleet enema? what should I expect once that bullet is insert in rectum? Oy VAY! I prefer the procedure of not knowing what is going on with my body than all this prep work before surgery!
Unread 07-22-2006, 07:23 PM
douche before surgery?

Hi Vgtigger!
I have not heard of douching before surgery. Hopefully someone else here has heard of it. I had to do the fleet enema. It's not too bad. Once you squeeze as much of the liquid in as you can, you just lay on your side until the "urge" to go strikes. The directions tell you how long to hold it in. Basically as long as possible. Have fun!
Unread 07-22-2006, 08:23 PM
douche before surgery?

I didn't have to do a bowel prep or douche so I don't have a personal experience to share with you. I have read around here that some women are instructed to do a douche prior to surgery, so it's not really uncommon. Our pre-op instructions seem to vary from woman to woman, doctor to doctor, and surgical procedures.