HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support and Information
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support Tutorial

Go Back   Hysterectomy HysterSisters > Hysterectomy Support Posts > Hysterectomy Options and Alternatives

HysterSisters answers for your Hysterectomy Questions With free registration, you can ask and answer questions in our HYSTERECTOMY forum community, get free booklets, access Hysterectomy Checkpoints and more. You are not alone. The HysterSisters are here for you. Join us today!

Lupron Depot/Fibroids Lupron Depot/Fibroids

Unread 01-07-2008, 12:29 PM
Lupron Depot/Fibroids

Hi, I am new to this web site and need some help. I have been dealing with large fibroids and ALL of the terrible symptoms for years now. I am almost 50. My Dr. and I agreed about 6 months ago that a hysterectomy is the right decision for me now. However in December, she suggested we try the Lupron/Depot shot to reduce the size of my fibroids and uterus. This shot is primarily used for endometriosis. Does anyone have any experience with this? I don't really want to have surgery, but don't want to just postpone the inevitable either. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks
Unread 01-07-2008, 12:58 PM
Lupron Depot/Fibroids

rpd0617

I had the once monthly Lupron shot for 3 months before my hysterectomy. It is commonly used to shrink fibroids and, in my case, managed to shrink an enormous fibroid by two-thirds! My surgeon wanted me to have the shots to make the surgery "safer".

The drug has a very high success rate in shrinking fibroids but it will only be a temporary "fix" if your ovaries are still producing estrogen after it's stopped. I understand that it's only usually recommended for a maximum of 6 months due to the danger of bone-loss ~ although there are always exceptions. My surgeon wanted me in for surgery reasonably quickly after the last shot since he was concerned the fibroid would start growing again.