HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support and Information
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support Tutorial

Go Back   Hysterectomy HysterSisters > Hysterectomy Support Posts > Hysterectomy Options and Alternatives

HysterSisters answers for your Hysterectomy Questions With free registration, you can ask and answer questions in our HYSTERECTOMY forum community, get free booklets, access Hysterectomy Checkpoints and more. You are not alone. The HysterSisters are here for you. Join us today!

10cm ovarian cyst- di vinci hysterectomy?  or not? 10cm ovarian cyst- di vinci hysterectomy? or not?

Unread 08-02-2008, 04:01 PM
10cm ovarian cyst- di vinci hysterectomy? or not?

Hi,
I'm a newbie here. I went to ER with a kidney stone a couple weeks ago and when they did a Cat Scan they found a 9.6x6.4x8.2cm ovarian cyst. After lithotripsy for the k stone, I followed up with my regular doctor who sent me for a pelvic ultrasound which confirmed a tumor. She referred me to a gyn/oncologist surgeon and I met with him 2 days ago.

After telling him I want to be out of the hospital as soon as possible...
My options are as follows
- laporatomy (open surgery)
- Di Vinci Hysterectomy (he is willing to attempt it, but says it my be too technically difficult and he would have to convert to open surgery anyway)

I am 51yr old, and have had 2 c-sections (over 30 years ago) so he would use the same scar (strait down from my belly button). I also had gastric bypass 2 years ago and lost 130#.

Anyway, I wondering if I should just do the open surgery which would hopfully be benign and only loose my left ovary and tube, or attempt the di vinci hysterectomy just so I could get home quicker (I have 3 great danes and they need me at home)?

Any thoughts are welcome...I'm going in circles here!
Thanks
Weimerdane
Unread 08-02-2008, 05:06 PM