HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support and Information
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support Tutorial

Go Back   Hysterectomy HysterSisters > Hysterectomy Support Posts > Our Hysterectomy Stories > da Vinci Hysterectomy Stories

HysterSisters answers for your Hysterectomy Questions With free registration, you can ask and answer questions in our HYSTERECTOMY forum community, get free booklets, access Hysterectomy Checkpoints and more. You are not alone. The HysterSisters are here for you. Join us today!

First week after Da Vinci Hysterectomy First week after Da Vinci Hysterectomy

Unread 06-22-2009, 07:57 AM
First week after Da Vinci Hysterectomy

I had a very hard time deciding when would be the best time to have a hysterectomy. Is there ever a good time??? No really. I am a solo-practitioner attorney and if I'm not there --- there is no revenue coming in. I still have to pay staff and overhead but no income stream. Time away from the office was my paramount issue. I had done much research into the recovery period from Hysterectomies and knew I could not be out for 4 to 6 weeks. Da Vinci seemed to be a blessing if all the promises of "less invasive" and "faster recovery time" was true.

I had been suffering with fibroids for the last 3 years. I mean really suffering. The bleeding was so bad that on my heavy days I had to wear an Extra-Super tampon with a heavy pad and dark pants. I kept extra panties and period supplies in my desk drawer for those "just in case" moments (which was each and every month). I had an ablation in the winter of 2006 that really helped control the bleeding but did absolutely nothing for the fibroid.