HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support and Information
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support Tutorial

Go Back   Hysterectomy HysterSisters > Hysterectomy Support Posts > Hysterectomy Recovery (post hysterectomy)

HysterSisters answers for your Hysterectomy Questions With free registration, you can ask and answer questions in our forum community, get free booklets, access Hysterectomy Checkpoints and more. Join us today!

Bladder was cut during surgery? Bladder was cut during surgery?

Unread 11-26-2001, 06:00 PM
Bladder was cut during surgery?

Hello,

I am new at this. I had a TAH on 11-12-01, during my surgery my DR accidentally cut my bladder. I had to wear a cathether for 8 days after surgery. I'm not sure what is happening to me, but I think I am leaking urine from my vagina. I went to the DR's today and he used the tools they use for pap smears. When he went in he said there was urine and he cleand my insides up and told me to lay there and relaxed until he came back. Well 20 minutes passed and he came back in and checked me again and said there was no urine, but I swear I am peeing from my vagina, has anyone out there expereinced this? If so please let me know what the DR did for you. I am afraid of having another surgery. Thank you.
Unread 11-26-2001, 06:33 PM

{{{Denise}}}} I'm so sorry you have to go through this. What an unfortunate thing to happen.

I'm afraid that I do not have any insight for you, since I've never experienced any of these symptoms. The only thing I can suggest is that you call your doctor and ask him if this is what is happening. If it is, ask him what your options are.

If you're not satisfied with the reply you get, consult with your PCP or head for the ER. This doesn't like something that should be happening.

Wishing you the best of luck. Please keep us posted.

Unread 11-26-2001, 07:12 PM

Dear Denise,

If your doc isn't providing you with the right answers, get a consultation with a urologist, or better yet, a uro-gynecologist.