HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support and Information
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support Tutorial

Go Back   Hysterectomy HysterSisters > Hysterectomy Support Posts > Hysterectomy Recovery (post hysterectomy)

HysterSisters answers for your Hysterectomy Questions With free registration, you can ask and answer questions in our HYSTERECTOMY forum community, get free booklets, access Hysterectomy Checkpoints and more. You are not alone. The HysterSisters are here for you. Join us today!

How long before you heal completely? How long before you heal completely?

Unread 12-12-2001, 10:08 AM
How long before you heal completely?

Hi sisters,

I had my TAH/RSO on September 5th, went back to work full time on October 22nd. Every day I felt better and my doctor told me to do what I wanted. My DH bought me a quarterhorse mare for Xmas and I started riding bareback last week. The day after my first ride I felt terrible. My belly hurt internally, not to mention my back and leg muscles, and my right side hurt a lot. I expected the back and leg muscle pain since I hadn't ridden in a while, but what's this belly pain after 3 months post-op?

Thanks,

Claudia
Unread 12-12-2001, 12:16 PM

Yikes, Claudia!

Did you ask your DR specifically about horseback riding???

My personal research and DRs say that it typically takes 6 months to a year to be completely healed after this surgery. The initial recovery period is 6 - 8 weeks. It sounds like your body did not like your riding this soon. I think you're right about the 'expected' muscle soreness after you have not ridden in a while, but I don't think I would get back on the horse for a while if I were you. If you're experiencing alot of tummy soreness, that tells me your body is still trying to heal from your surgery. It might not be a bad idea to go and let your DR have a look to make sure everything is okay.

Hope you feel better soon!
Unread 12-12-2001, 03:32 PM

Thanks Toonces,