HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support and Information
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support Tutorial

Go Back   Hysterectomy HysterSisters > Hysterectomy Support Posts > Hysterectomy Recovery (post hysterectomy)

HysterSisters answers for your Hysterectomy Questions With free registration, you can ask and answer questions in our HYSTERECTOMY forum community, get free booklets, access Hysterectomy Checkpoints and more. You are not alone. The HysterSisters are here for you. Join us today!

Excessive thirst!! Excessive thirst!!

Unread 11-28-2011, 04:15 PM
Excessive thirst!!

I'm about 7 weeks post op and am having extreme thirst for water for some reason. Did anyone else have this after surgery???
Unread 11-28-2011, 07:05 PM
Re: Excessive thirst!!

Please go to your regular doctor and have yourself checked for diabetes. I am not a doctor but excessive thirst this far out from surgery is not normal.
Unread 11-28-2011, 09:23 PM

Just another that as well, of course call your doc. But for me taking pain medications makes me thirsty. And I regular drink tons and tons of water though. I drank tons and tons of water even first day right after surgery. I drink well over the regular required amount of water we should drink daily.
Unread 11-29-2011, 07:52 PM

Hi,
I am about 11 weeks post op and have felt super-dehydrated. Even my skin felt dried up.

I have increased the water intake and also added a humidifier to add moisture to the air.

I read somewhere that the extreme dryness can be a part of the experience after hysterectomy (dry vagina and including all membranes, dry skin, hair, etc).

Maybe it is part of the hormone adjustment issues.
Unread 11-30-2011, 05:36 AM

Thanks for all the advice! I have a feeling it is related to the hormone adjustments as well but was just wondering if I was the only one that had experienced this!
Unread 01-20-2012, 11:17 PM
Excessive thirst!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamsecond View Post