HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support and Information
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support Tutorial

Go Back   Hysterectomy HysterSisters > Hysterectomy Support Posts > Our Hysterectomy Stories > Vaginal Hysterectomy Stories

HysterSisters answers for your Hysterectomy Questions With free registration, you can ask and answer questions in our forum community, get free booklets, access Hysterectomy Checkpoints and more. Join us today!

vaginal hysterectomy, cystocele & rectocele vaginal hysterectomy, cystocele & rectocele

Unread 12-12-2012, 07:06 PM
vaginal hysterectomy, cystocele & rectocele

Hi,
I met with my surgeon in July and decided we would do a partial hysterectomy and bladder repair. I am a school teacher so I thought it might be best to have the surgery over the holiday break.

I met with him again in November and scheduled the surgery for the first week of December. This would be helpful so I wouldn't have the two weeks of break to plan.

The anticipation was killing me. I had never had surgery and had to plan for my classroom. I was thankful when the weekend before surgery came. I could go shopping for a new robe, pajamas, and some new cute slippers for the hospital. :-) I decided to take off the Monday before surgery and it was a great idea. I got my house cleaned, and somewhat organized,

Tuesday was bowel prep day. UGH! My surgeon likes the "go-litely" version. I had to drink that gallon jug of gross stuff all day. I started at 9a.m. and finished my last cup at 2:00 pm. I was on the toilet every 10 minutes and my bottom was so raw. Thanks gosh I read on this website to buy baby wipes.

Next mornining, surgery day. I arrived at 5 am and got checked in. I was soo embarassed when the nurse said I had to have a fleet enema. I thought how can there be anything left.

Surgeon came in and checked in with me and said we were just waiting for the anesthesiologist. I guess the original Dr. couldn't make it. So at this point we were running late.