New With Lots Of Questions | Preparing for Hysterectomy (pre hysterectomy) | HysterSisters
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support and Information
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support Tutorial

Go Back   Hysterectomy HysterSisters > Hysterectomy Support Posts > Preparing for Hysterectomy (pre hysterectomy)

With free registration, you can ask and answer questions in our HYSTERECTOMY forum community, get our FREE BOOKLET, access Hysterectomy Checkpoints and more.

You are not alone. The HysterSisters are here for you. Join us today!
join HysterSisters for hysterectomy resources and support

New With Lots Of Questions New With Lots Of Questions

Unread 02-27-2002, 08:25 PM
New With Lots Of Questions

Hi, I am new to the HysterSisters site. I have been reading the messages for several days now and wanted to join in. You are a lovely lot of LIW's and Princesses. I am 54 years old with a bad medical history. I have asthma, diabetes, sleep apnea, and supraventricular tachycardia. I also had a lumpectomy, DCIS (ductal carcinoma in situ) 12/13/01. My two sisters had breast cancer and we think our mother did as well. My mom died age 50, & one sister died from breast cancer in Sept. My tumor was considered a precancer, but I am definitely high on the list for getting invasive cancer. I am on Tamoxifen which causes blood clots and uterine cancer. I have always had severe problems with hemorrhaging during my menstrual cycles, had endo and a D & C in 1993. Up until 5 months ago, I had severe periods with bleeding at odd times in the month. All of a sudden, they stopped with only occasionally light spotting or bleeding. I had a PAP test and exam on 1/31/02. Dr. thought I had polpys. Had ultrasound the next week. Dx- Problable large fibroids with enlarged, severly tilted uterus. One tumor size of a grapefruit, 2nd a baseball. My M.D. sent me to a gyn. Both concluded, as well as I, that I need a hysterectomy. My past history of hemorrhaging, severe pain and fibroids, plus the addition of