Explaining myself??? | Preparing for Hysterectomy (pre hysterectomy) | HysterSisters
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support and Information
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support Tutorial

Go Back   Hysterectomy HysterSisters > Hysterectomy Support Posts > Preparing for Hysterectomy (pre hysterectomy)

With free registration, you can ask and answer questions in our HYSTERECTOMY forum community, get our FREE BOOKLET, access Hysterectomy Checkpoints and more.

You are not alone. The HysterSisters are here for you. Join us today!
join HysterSisters for hysterectomy resources and support

Explaining myself??? Explaining myself???

Unread 03-17-2002, 03:40 PM
Explaining myself???

Hi-

I am new to hystersisters but have already decided that all of you are pretty darned wonderful. I went to the Dr. last week and found out that My rectum, bladder and uterus are severely prolapsed and that he will be doing the hysterectomy and the repairs to my other organs on April 29. I am still trying to process all of this, as I did not expect it. Anyway, I am pretty nervous about the whole thinig, especially since I have four kids, including a set of 9 year old twins and a 10 month old (who I will not be able to lift!). Here are my questions....
First, I see many of you use abbreviations in your signatures and I don't know which to use for my situation. Next (this is a SILLY question!!!) How do you explain what kind of surgery you are having to people who ask? I mean, I always tell the truth, but have yet to come up with a comfortable answer to people who ask that I don't know very well. FOr example, in church this morning, several people came up to me and said, "Oh, I hear you're having surgery. What for?" I find it somewhat embarrassing to talk about my rectum and bladder! Has anybody come it a better answer? My husband suggested, "I'm having a hysterectomy and some plumbing repaired". What do you think?
Also, will I still be able to breastfeed after the hysterectomy???
Thanks!

Shannon