HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support and Information
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support Tutorial

Go Back   Hysterectomy HysterSisters > Hysterectomy Support Posts > Hysterectomy Recovery (post hysterectomy)

HysterSisters answers for your Hysterectomy Questions With free registration, you can ask and answer questions in our HYSTERECTOMY forum community, get free booklets, access Hysterectomy Checkpoints and more. You are not alone. The HysterSisters are here for you. Join us today!

lavh recovery time? lavh recovery time?

Unread 06-27-2002, 09:21 AM
lavh recovery time?

Don't call out the pillow police yet.....

I'm scheduled for lavh/bso on 7/17. Both my dr & his nurse assured me that not only can I return to work on 8/12 (I'm a dyslexia therapist on staff at a brand new school, so this date is non-negotiable) and even travel 6-7 hrs to a family reunion on 8/2. I will have the standard lifting restrictions.

I'm in good health & don't anticipate any complications.

Is this realistic - from those who have really been there??

Many thanks in advance.
Unread 06-27-2002, 09:28 AM
lavh recovery time?

I had a TVH on 6/13 so it's been two weeks today. The travel doesn't bother me as long as someone else is driving but I've not been in the car for 7-8 hours. As far as returning to work, I am going to begin working at home on Monday but I don't really think that I could go to work full time right now. I'm sure that everyone's different, though, and I would just try to wait and see. I hope that all goes well for you!
Unread 06-27-2002, 09:29 AM
lavh recovery time

I think it is realistic.

My employer allowed me 6 weeks off following my surgery and I went back at 4 1/2. (Guilt at knowing they were short staffed without me got the best of me!!)

I pretty much felt like myself after a week or so but tired easily. I drove my mom nuts by going upstairs to bed the first night I was home from the hospital!
Unread 06-27-2002, 09:32 AM
lavh recovery time?