HotFlashes | No Uterus - No Ovaries - No Hormones - Managing Menopause | HysterSisters
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support and Information
HysterSisters Hysterectomy Support Tutorial

Go Back   Hysterectomy HysterSisters > Hormone Issues (HRT - No HRT) > No Uterus - No Ovaries - No Hormones - Managing Menopause

With free registration, you can ask and answer questions in our HYSTERECTOMY forum community, get our FREE BOOKLET, access Hysterectomy Checkpoints and more.

You are not alone. The HysterSisters are here for you. Join us today!
join HysterSisters for hysterectomy resources and support
Unread 09-08-2002, 10:02 AM
HotFlashes

[b][size=3][font=courier new][color=orangered]
hi,I am new to this and just was wondering what could I do about hotflashes that I seem to be getting all the time now that I had a hysterectomy? I am not on any meds as yet,the doctor wants to see how I am without any at this time. Any help will be greatly appriecated. TY
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Unread 09-08-2002, 11:22 AM
Hot flashes

Hi Blondiesue,

The hot flashes are a bit brutal, aren't they?

Aside from some of the natural remedies, which may I add you must ask your Dr. before taking, always have cold or ice water available for yourself. A fan or AC at night as well.

Good luck to you.

Chris
Unread 09-08-2002, 06:16 PM
HotFlashes

blondisue, I take evening primrose oil capsules and flax seed oil capsules. I also take 12.5mg of a prescription anti-depressant effexor that has been known to lessen hot flashes. All these are to lessen flashes and ALL have been recommended by my doctor.

Best of luck!

Love,
Maggie
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Unread 09-08-2002, 06:37 PM
HotFlashes

Hi blondisue

Ask your dr about black cohosh and flaxseedoil w/omaga3..........I was soooooooo bad with flashes and night sweats, Then my DR told me to start on this and it worked for me.....

And the effoxer that Maggie is on works so well for so many sisters.........